124 days to go

I want to travel. To be free to explore all day, pack a bag with some food and water and a jumper and just wander for the day. I want to not worry about exams, bills, charging my phone, I just want to get up in the morning and go, meet who I meet, go where I go. Eleutheromania is a greek word, meaning ‘an intense and irresistible desire for freedom’, so I guess that makes me an eleutheromaniac.

Well in 124 days, at the end of June, my school education will be finished. 7 years at primary school, 5 years at secondary school and 2 years of sixth form, I will finally be done. I can travel and work and do whatever I want to do. Be free. But first I have the exams, the worry, the revision and pain because despite my eleutheromania, I do also have academic ambitions; to be a psychologist. I’m going to have a year out, to feed my hunger for travel and freedom, just before I throw myself back into yet another long stint of education.

My plans? Thailand, Senegal, USA, Cambodia, Malaysia, Madagascar, Venezuela, The Galapagos Islands… There are so many options, I’m over-whelmed. All I know, is I’ll go to everywhere before I’m finished on this Earth… That’s a promise.

So, are you up for it? Because I’m going to need some support, and I think you need some too… Let’s do this, together.

4 thoughts on “124 days to go

Leave a Reply

